Space Invaders Jell-O Shots

January 21, 2010 at 7:31 am 4 comments

For Christmas, I got my boyfriend Dave a Space Invaders ice cube tray from fredflare.com.  I also got him some Pac Man oven mitts.  He’s a classic gaming afficianado, so he was happy.

I thought it might be fun to make jello shots in the Space Invaders ice cube tray, but unfortunately it was “Game Over.” Once again, here’s a “Before” shot.

The flexible ice cube tray was too flimsy, shallow, and constricting to allow the jello shots to pop out in a recognizable alien shape.  To be honest, I have trouble getting ice to work in this tray. It works, but it seems to require one to individually pop out each little ice alien and this is a hand-numbing experience.

Anyway, jello shots are great for any party. Next time I’ll go back to making them in dixie cups.

I used a very simple recipe but there’s a lot of variations you can find on the net.

Entry filed under: Jell-O experiments.

Quick Fruit Dessert Melon Cooler

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. zzyzx71  |  January 21, 2010 at 7:40 am

    I wonder if there’s something you can line the tray w/before pouring the “jell-o” so it’s easier to slide from the tray once they’re ready for consumption. The trick is so the “lining” won’t affect the liquid from becoming gelled. Otherwise chalk it up to a design flaw, but I like your taste in ice trays. Has your BF checked out KLOV.com?

    Reply
    • 2. julieandjello  |  January 24, 2010 at 2:32 am

      zzyzz71, I think the alien cups are just too small and shallow. Plus maybe the silicone makes it stick? It was my first experience with a silicone mold. I’ll have to try a larger one and see if it works.

      Reply
  • 3. David (The Boyfriend)  |  January 21, 2010 at 8:17 am

    Yeah, I love KLOV, and contributed some photos of my Last Star fighter cabinet to KLOV.com (http://www.klov.com/game_detail.php?letter=L&game_id=8394).

    As for the “Taste Invaders” I thought it was a fantastic idea, and Julie will find a way to make it work! I love the ice tray!

    Reply
  • […] Legoland a couple years ago but hadn’t used. The Lego Brick Mold was the silicone type, like the Space Invaders ice cube tray, and it gave me the same problem when it came time to unmold. It wouldnt pop out cleanly. You can […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


wordpress hit counter

