Jellied Ginger-Upper and Lego Mold Difficulties

March 9, 2010 at 7:04 am 2 comments

This mold involves sugar-free cherry jello, ginger ale, lemon juice, and canned pears.  It turned out pretty tasty. I like the combination of jello and soda pop.  I poured the jello in my standard mold and I had some left over, so I decided to try a Lego mold that I bought at Legoland a couple years ago but hadn’t used. The Lego Brick Mold was the silicone type, like the Space Invaders ice cube tray, and it gave me the same problem when it came time to unmold. It wouldnt pop out cleanly. You can see from the photo that the jello emerged as blobs and there was only one distinguishable lego nipple.

Checking for a link for the Lego brick mold on the Lego Store, I was pleased to see that the mold has a lot of complaints, so the unmolding failure was not just due to my incompetence (although I’m sure that was a contributing factor). One person recommended spraying the mold with cooking spray before filling it. I will have to give that a try. This brick mold has been such a flop that some Lego PR person had to make a statement and the company has discontinued it.

From the statement: “We have used it to bake brownies and have had good results. Since other cakes have different textures we have found they are definitely harder and sometimes impossible to get out in one piece. We have also experienced significant difficulty getting gelatin treats out successfully.”

The PR person recommended purchasing the Minifigure Cake Mould instead. Unfortunately it’s not currently available in the US. I checked eBay but it’s going for $25 – yikes! Still, I want it.

Entry filed under: Jell-O molds and cookware, Jell-O recipes. Tags: , , , .

Clifton’s Cafeteria – Jello Emporium Avatar Jello – What the Na’vi Eat

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Darlene  |  March 9, 2010 at 7:14 am

    That would be an interesting birthday gift! You could start a birthday jello mold wish list 😉 I wonder if it would have worked better if there wasn’t any fruit in it.

    Reply
  • […] New Joys of Jell-O was published, so I had to improvise. Since I enjoyed the last recipe I made, Jellied Ginger-Upper, I used that as my base.  I made a double recipe so I could get a large bundt mold. I don’t […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


wordpress hit counter

