Avatar Jello – What the Na’vi Eat

March 9, 2010 at 8:01 am 3 comments

My mother taught me it’s not a party without a jello mold, and in the case of this year’s Oscar party, I knew it would have to be an Avatar jello mold. I don’t think the Berry Blue Jell-O flavor existed in 1975 when my textbook The New Joys of Jell-O was published, so I had to improvise. Since I enjoyed the last recipe I made, Jellied Ginger-Upper, I used that as my base.  I made a double recipe so I could get a large bundt mold. I don’t know why I expect that people in 2010 will devour jello molds the way they did in 1975, especially when the mold is blue, but I keep hope alive. Here’s the recipe for my creation:

Avatar Jello Mold

2 boxes of Berry Blue Jell-O (6 oz.)
2 cups boiling water
28 oz ginger ale
2 bags of frozen mixed berries

Dissolve gelatin in boiling water. Gradually add ginger ale.  Chill until thickened; stir in fruit.  Spoon into bundt pan or other large mold. Chill until firm.

The mold turned out really dark, downright inky. If I was doing it over, I would use light-colored fruit like pears or pineapple and see if that would lighten it up. It was still pretty tasty but the color was somewhat foreboding. You had to hold a bite up to the light to get a sense of the blueness.

Here’s a tip for getting your party guests to try your jello mold. Cut into the mold yourself first. Guests will be shy. They will not want to mess with the jello mold’s perfection. They need you to get it started.  Still, even after I ate a chunk myself, only a few guests sampled the jello, but I got positive comments from those brave souls.

We had a theme food contest and there were a lot of blue Avatar items: blue corn tortilla chips, blueberry muffins, UV blue raspberry vodka, pre-mixed Bacardi Zombie cocktails, meringues with blue sprinkles.  I also made Avatartinis in a punch bowl – Malibu rum, Curacao, and Jarritos pineapple soda.

Nobody was able to fit in their Oscar gown after this party.

Entry filed under: Jell-O experiments, Jell-O holidays and parties, Jell-O recipes. Tags: , , , , , .

Jellied Ginger-Upper and Lego Mold Difficulties Happy Passover! The Gefilte Fish Mold

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Julia  |  March 9, 2010 at 4:45 pm

    I admit, I was scared. Your blog makes me miss my grandmother’s fruit jello. I think the flavor was red.

    Reply
  • 2. joe h  |  March 9, 2010 at 7:31 pm

    and yet I bet nobody was actually rooting for avatar. go figure.

    Reply
  • 3. Jon Konrath  |  April 3, 2010 at 7:34 pm

    I think I have other particular and unmentionable post-party fears of consuming that large of an amount of artificial blue food coloring.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


wordpress hit counter

