Melon Cooler

January 21, 2010 at 7:48 am 5 comments

Amber-hued glob of deliciousness

At last, a jello mold I can be proud of!

Also from the “nice and easy” chapter, this mold involves orange jello, Sprite (or any citrus soda pop), and diced melon (canteloupe here).

The book suggests garnishing the mold with Dream Whip and mint leaves. I thought it was tasty enough sans garnish.  I left it in the mold in the fridge over night and it released itself from the mold quite easily.

Before

After!

Entry filed under: Jell-O recipes.

Space Invaders Jell-O Shots Peach Bavarian

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Laura  |  January 21, 2010 at 11:13 am

    That is a beauty!

    Reply
  • 2. Heidi T  |  January 22, 2010 at 12:23 am

    Hey Jules, good luck w/ the project. Sounds like fun.

    Just read the Mission Statment and I think you add something about you originally being from the Midwest. (see comment)

    Also, I officially submit a question (assuming you’re game for Q&As): I have about 10 packs of Cherry Jell-o sitting in the back of my pantry since a couple yrs after our graduation. So, yeah, a loooong time. Do jello packets go bad?

    Reply
    • 3. julieandjello  |  January 24, 2010 at 2:17 am

      Heidi, from what I can find online, it lasts 2 years so you should probably throw those boxes out. I don’t know about then, but now Jell-O has expiration dates stamped on it. Thanks for the reminder on the midwest connection – I will revise it.

      Reply
  • 4. Cher Scholar  |  January 22, 2010 at 5:02 am

    I have another question: why do bundt cake pans make such beautiful jello molds?

    Reply
    • 5. julieandjello  |  January 24, 2010 at 2:30 am

      Cher Scholar, bundt pans just have that pleasing fluted shape to them. Because they are still fairly solid, the jello usually doesnt have a problem adhering to the shape. I think bundt just screams comfort, whether harnessed for jello or cake uses. Right now I only have the bundt mold but I am bidding on some others on ebay.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


wordpress hit counter

