Grasshopper Dessert

January 7, 2011 at 7:18 am Leave a comment

On New Year’s Eve, I figured if I was going to make jello, it had to involve booze. So I chose to make Grasshopper Dessert.  Dave and I were staying in on New Year’s, and he loves mint, so I thought this would be a good choice.  He pronounced it the best jello yet! I thought it was good but not awesome, but then I am not a huge mint fan.

The ingredients were lime jello, sugar, creme de menthe liqueur, and dream whip.  I had to go to 3 liquor stores before I found creme de menthe, and the lone bottle they had was very dusty. I guess people aren’t drinking a lot of grasshoppers these days.  Growing up, I recall my mom sometimes ordered a grasshopper with ice cream as a dessert drink.  Do any bars still make that?

Part of the jello was made the usual way, and then cut into cubes. The rest of the jello was blended with the dream whip. As directed, I arranged the cubes of jello in a ring around a creamy center of boozy jello dream whip.  It turned out pretty and would be a good choice for St. Patrick’s Day.

As it was New Years Eve, I had to reflect on my first year of jellocraft. I made 29 of the 109 recipes in the cookbook. I also made some recipes and jello shots that weren’t in the book.  So I didn’t match Julie of “Julie and Julia” who finished her cookbook in a year, but I hope to double my efforts this year and finish it in 2011.  I have to blame the savory jellos. The experience of making them and eating them would cause setbacks and lack of jello motivation.  But, continue I shall!  I wish you all the best in life and jello in 2011!

Entry filed under: Jell-O holidays and parties, Jell-O recipes. Tags: , , , , .

Molded Ham and Egg Salad Jellied Holiday Nog and Eggnog Martinis

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


wordpress hit counter

