Mmmmm brains!

October 31, 2010 at 11:19 pm 1 comment

Happy Jelloween, everybody!

My friend Mary gave me this awesome brain jello mold for my birthday, so I decided Halloween was the day to break it in.  I had planned to make this for the Googleween party at the office, but last minute preparations for my Android costume and the Witches Brew punch kept me too busy to get ‘er done.

I found this brain jello recipe online and thought it sounded good. There were some recipes that tried to achieve the gray  or tan color of actual brains, or a pink color, but I like the green brain idea. It’s more festive and more appealing to actually eat. I did make my Witches Brew punch a very sludgy gray color, thanks to the Blavod black vodka, but I don’t think one should serve too many gray items at a Halloween party. You can find the punch recipe and other Blavod recipes here.

I made the recipe as directed, however I substituted Hansen’s Kiwi Strawberry soda for lemon-lime soda, since I happened to have it on hand.  I sprayed the mold with Pam, and I must have soaked it pretty good, because the brain slid perfectly from the mold without me even having to put it in hot water. The ingredients are lime jello, walnuts, cream cheese, and boiling and cold water. Follow the link above for the full recipe.

This was really simple to make, took probably 15 minutes total, plus 3 hours to set.  The nuts and some of the cream cheese settled to the bottom to make a sort of crust that gave an accent to the flavor. I’m not a huge fan of lime jello in general, but this is definitely a fun jello mold that I would hope to bring to a future Halloween party, or the next time I invite some zombies to dinner.

Entry filed under: Jell-O holidays and parties, Jell-O molds and cookware, Jell-O recipes, Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , .

Strawberry Yogurt Whip – aka Pop Rocks Jello Jellopalooza II: Savory Jello Strikes Back

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Mary McCray  |  November 1, 2010 at 7:59 pm

    ewwww….grosss!!!!

    Lime jello sounds sweet though.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


wordpress hit counter

