Lemon Chiffon Pie

October 18, 2010 at 6:05 am 2 comments

I made this Lemon Chiffon Pie for my a going away party for my friends Mary and John.  It was a hit!  Sadly, I lost the photo I took of the actual pie, so I’m substituting a similar, though somewhat better looking, pic to give you an idea of how the pie looks.

To make this pie, I combined egg yolks, water, sugar, lemon jello, lemon rind, and lemon juice.  The challenging part for me was that I then had to beat egg whites until foamy, and then gradually beat in more sugar. It was then supposed to “stand in stiff peaks.”  I felt like I was mixing it forever but it was still somewhat flaccid.  Gradually, it approached the stiff peak consistency. I then folded in the gelatin mixture, blended it some more, let it chill and then poured it into the pie shell.

It came out tasting very much like a typical lemon meringue pie.  You wouldnt even realize there was jello involved unless someone admitted it. At the party, kids and adults alike enjoyed the pie.  John had some the next day and declared it my best jello dish yet (of course, he can compare it to some of the monstrosities of Jellopalooza like Salmon Dill Mousse, so there was nowhere to go but up).

Even though the beating was tiresome, I would definitely make this again. Maybe I need one of those fancy kitchenaid mixers? This is a great dessert for a summer picnic – delightfully refreshing.

Entry filed under: Jell-O recipes. Tags: , , , , .

Double Strawberry Dessert Strawberry Yogurt Whip – aka Pop Rocks Jello

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Anonymous  |  January 10, 2013 at 4:22 am

    Can you post your recipe?

    Reply
  • 2. Julia  |  May 18, 2013 at 9:59 am

    Hello, everything is going nicely here and ofcourse every one is
    sharing facts, that’s in fact excellent, keep up writing.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


wordpress hit counter

