Bacon Vodka Jello Shots

October 12, 2010 at 6:20 am 6 comments

So, I’ve been neglecting my jello duties. Sometimes life interferes with jello-making. Like I went to Burning Man for a week – you really can’t make jello under those conditions. But now I’m back, and it’s time to catch up.

My colleague HungryKat came up with the idea of having a Bacon Vs. Dessert Cook Off at the office.  There would be prizes for the best bacon item, the best dessert, and a grand prize for the best dessert involving bacon. Naturally, I wanted to try for the grand prize, and I wanted to involve jello. I didn’t find many jello and bacon recipes online, and none in my cookbooks, but I did find this intriguing jello shot as created by the inspired bloggers at My Jello Americans. Browse their site and behold true jello artistry!

I didn’t have time to follow their directions and make my own bacon vodka (it takes weeks), but I did find Bakon – bacon-flavored vodka – for sale online. I ordered a bottle, along with the gummy fried eggs that would be the garnish.

This was my first time using Knox gelatin – the plain stuff – and I think I would blame the failure of this jello shot on the Knox.  I’m not sure what flavor would have been better, but perhaps peach would have gone well with the bacon – in a bacon-wrapped melon kinda way. It certainly would have looked nicer. The beige color of the plain gelatin made the drink resemble a shot of jellied gravy. Well, really, when you float bacon in jello, it’s just probably not going to taste very good no matter what you do.  Adding maple syrup didn’t improve things. You can put lipstick on a pig, but…

Although I knew they were too noxious to win, I decided to bring the shots to work for comedic value, and people did get a kick out of them. Some brave souls ventured to try them, but I didn’t get many votes. Some complained the shots were too big, which was true, but I had to make them big enough to include a small piece of bacon, plus the gummy fried egg, so a standard shot glass wouldn’t suffice.

In the boozy bacon department, Bacon-infused bourbon was much more successful and tied with HungryKat’s bacon-wrapped hot dogs for the Best Bacon award.  A gooey butter cake won Best Dessert (yay for the St. Louis creation!), and some delicious bacon toffee took Best Bacon Dessert.

I don’t know if I’ll ever find a jello and meat recipe that works. But I guess I’m going to have to keep trying if I’m going to get through The New Joys of Jello

Entry filed under: Jell-O abominations, Jell-O shots. Tags: , , , , , , .

Have another cherry… Strawberry Pretzel Jello Salad

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Anonymous  |  December 6, 2012 at 8:23 pm

    wow its weird

    Reply
  • 2. alarm  |  June 21, 2013 at 6:20 pm

    Hi! I know this is sort of off-topic but I needed to ask.
    Does building a well-established website like yours take a
    large amount of work? I am completely new to writing a blog however I do write in my
    journal on a daily basis. I’d like to start a blog so I can share my own experience and views online. Please let me know if you have any suggestions or tips for brand new aspiring blog owners. Thankyou!

    Reply
  • 3. Swamp Attack Hack  |  July 29, 2014 at 11:51 am

    Heya! I’m at work browsing your blog from myy new apple
    iphone! Just wanted to say I love readiing
    your blog and look forward to all your posts!
    Keep up the superb work!

    Reply
  • 4. shadow fight 2 hack tool V2.45  |  September 1, 2014 at 5:28 pm

    Do you have a spam problem on this website; I also am a blogger,
    and I was wondering your situation; many of us have created some nice methods
    and we are looking to trade solutions with others, why not shoot me an email if interested.

    Reply
  • 5. publicize  |  September 1, 2014 at 6:19 pm

    Simply desire to say your article is as astonishing.
    The clearness in your post is simply nice and i could assume you’re an expert on this subject.
    Well with your permission allow me to grab your RSS feed to keep updated with forthcoming post.
    Thanks a million and please continue the enjoyable work.

    Reply
  • 6. fifa 15 ultimate Team hack Ipad  |  October 2, 2014 at 2:18 pm

    Pretty great post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to mention that I have really loved surfing around your weblog posts.

    In any case I will be subscribing to your rss feed and I’m
    hoping you write once more soon!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


wordpress hit counter

