Crown Jewel Cake

June 1, 2010 at 5:55 am 1 comment

I had been looking forward to making the Crown Jewel Cake since I first cracked open the cookbook.  Check out photos to the right. It looks like a jello masterwork, a cubist’s delight. I wondered: would my jello craftsmanship be up to the task?

Fortunately, it wasn’t as complex as I feared.  Basically, you make 3 flavors of jello and let them set in 8×8 pans.  Then you cut them into cubes and fold them into the cake batter which consists of dream whip, lemon jello, pineapple juice, and sugar.  You spoon the mixture into a springform pan. I didn’t have a springform pan (the type of pan where you can detach the bottom), so I had to pick one up at Target.

I didn’t realize Dream Whip still existed, and its packaging looks like it hasn’t been updated since the 70s, but I found it. I guess it’s handy to have in the cupboard for all the sudden whipped cream emergencies that may arise in life.

I left the cake in the fridge overnight and it slid out of the pan with ease.  My only regret was that it wasn’t as tall as the cake in the cookbook photo. They must have doubled the recipe or used a smaller springform pan.  So this was a bit of false advertising on the part of The New Joys of Jell-O.  My cake was pretty but would have been more impressive if it produced larger slices.

I enjoyed the cake but found it awfully sweet due to the dream whip.  The pineapple juice added some nice flavor.  My Jellopalooza guests enjoyed it, giving it a 3.7, however it received the lowest score of the three fruity dessert jellos that I served.

Some comments from my guests…

Clifton’s memories” – Kat (editor’s note: you can find this jello at Clifton’s Cafeteria in LA – however when I tried it, it tasted like Miracle Whip – blech)

“Loved it. Pleasant combo of mystery sweets. Creamy” – Mary

“More going on than a schizophrenic crack addict” – Aaron

“Pretty, creamy, and tasty” – Larisa

“Nice mix of textures and flavors; the creamy part even had a little fizz” – Christopher

I would make this again. It’s definitely a centerpiece dessert.

Entry filed under: Jell-O recipes. Tags: , , , .

Green Goddess Salad Bowl Jello Shots for Jellopalooza

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Cubed Gelatin « Julie and Jell-O  |  October 18, 2010 at 5:05 am

    […] would be one of them.  I had already succeeded at cubing jello, as it was required to make the Crown Jewel Cake.  But I can always use more […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


wordpress hit counter

