Armenian Flag Jello Mold

April 5, 2010 at 3:21 am 1 comment

I’m pleased to report on a Jello mold I made that was an unqualified success! My friend and Ape Culture co-editor Mary recently threw a Cher Party. We would be part of a research assignment for an upcoming issue of her Cher Scholar zine.  We were supposed to eat Armenian food (Cher is Armenian – her real name is Cherilyn Sarkisian) and watch all of Cher’s videos and comment on the food and videos. This was a fun evening, but let’s just say that when it comes to the art of the music video, Cher is no Madonna or Duran Duran.  She’s not even a Cyndi Lauper.  I do think that “Turn Back Time” (the video shot on the aircraft carrier) is a classic for the ages, though. Remember when MTV had to play it only after 10pm due to Cher’s exposed butt?

It was suggested that I make an Armenian jello mold. I wasn’t sure what that would entail.  I didn’t think I should put hummus, baba ghanoush, or olives in jello.  Dave came up with the winning idea – make a Jello mold that looks like the Armenian flag. I was pleased to discover the Armenian flag is just three blocks of color: blue, orange, and red.

I decided to use my fish mold, mainly because it was the right size, but, hey, Armenians do eat fish.  I was going to layer the flag colors rather than do them side by side.  I used the “Rainbow Ribbon Mold” recipe from my 1982 cookbook “The Joy of Jell-O Molds.” I liked this recipe because it included yogurt, which I felt would lend a mediterranean flair to the dish.

Making a layered mold takes time. I think it took me around 2 hours. I had to chill each layer til it was “set but not firm (should stick to finger when touched)” and then add the next layer. I had to stay alert. If I let the jello set too long, it might not mold itself to the next layer, and my flag could collapse. I used strawberry, orange, and berry blue jello.

I left the mold in the fridge overnight and it unmolded quite easily.  Everyone loved the vibrant colors and actually enjoyed the mix of fruit flavors. It reminded me of eating a bowl of Fruity Pebbles – a delicious menage a trois of jello flavors in each bite (see cross-section photo below). Yes, this was a jello mold that compelled people to come back for seconds! There were 7 guests at the party and no jello leftovers! Dave said it was my best jello mold yet!

All the food was tasty, particularly the Armenian lasagna and the Zankou chicken. Check out the full buffet, plus a cross-section photo.

Read Mary’s recap of the Cher Party.

Get the recipe for Rainbow Ribbon Mold from the Kraft website.

Entry filed under: Jell-O experiments, Jell-O holidays and parties, Jell-O recipes. Tags: , , , , .

Happy Passover! The Gefilte Fish Mold Quick Orange Salad

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. David (The Boyfriend)  |  April 5, 2010 at 3:25 am

    Yummy!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


wordpress hit counter

