Happy Passover! The Gefilte Fish Mold

April 3, 2010 at 7:25 pm 2 comments

A friend shared a photo with me from a passover celebration from several years ago. In an effort to make the required menu item gefilte fish more palatable, his friend mixed it into a jello mold. Lemon jello, horseradish, and gefilte fish.  Oh my.

OK, I didn’t yet have the nerve to make this myself. Can I use the excuse that I’m not Jewish?

If you want to attempt it, I found a recipe on cooks.com. I do have the fish mold, but I think I’ll have to ease into this fish jello thing with some of the tuna and salmon recipes that lie ahead in my Joy of Jello cookbook.

Entry filed under: Jell-O holidays and parties, Jell-O recipes. Tags: , .

Avatar Jello – What the Na’vi Eat Armenian Flag Jello Mold

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Terra  |  April 4, 2010 at 10:58 pm

    “OK, I didn’t yet have the nerve to make this myself. Can I use the excuse that I’m not Jewish?”

    No, I’m afraid you can’t. If you’re seriously going to take on The New Joys of Jell-O, you have to be fearless. I don’t know if you’ve read my blog post about it, but the Salmon Dill Mousse is not for the faint of heart: http://msterra.wordpress.com/2010/01/03/jell-o-39-40-sunday-jell-o-brunch/

    Reply
  • 2. julieandjello  |  April 5, 2010 at 1:57 am

    True. All the fish and veggie recipes are still ahead for me and I won’t wuss out. This one I didn’t have to make cuz it’s not in the book 🙂 I’m using your entries as a reward for finishing jellos so I don’t read them in advance lest I prejudice my experiment. Adding you to my blogroll now 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


wordpress hit counter

