The Mission

January 17, 2010 at 1:41 am 2 comments

The Project: Make every recipe in The New Joys of Jell-O cookbook in one year. There are 109 recipes.  This means roughly two Jell-O recipes per week.

The Questions: Can I learn to cube it, flake it, parfait it? Can I actually eat Jell-O molds that involve meat and vegetables? Will my boyfriend and friends actually eat this stuff if I throw an all-Jell-O dinner party?

The Reason: I have always enjoyed Jell-O. My mother taught me that no festive occasion was complete without a Jell-O mold. Growing up in St. Louis, Jell-O molds were common sites at any family gathering or church pot luck event. I loved Jell-O pudding pops. Now I want to push my Jell-O-molding skills to the limit. I also want a reason to buy some new molds.

The Book: I have several Jell-O cookbooks, but this is my favorite. It cost $1.00 in 1975. It’s hardback. It has delightful illustrations – some of which I will share as this project unfolds.  It has no author. Apparently it was vomited out by General Foods. It was first published in 1973, and my copy is the 3rd edition from 1975.

The Journey: Pack some Jell-O squares. It’s gonna be a while. We’ll have some detours along the way to examine Jell-O history, other Jell-O sites, Jell-O news and innovations.

Entry filed under: Jell-O history, Mission Statement.

Quick Fruit Dessert

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Heidi T  |  January 22, 2010 at 12:28 am

    Jules, you ought to add something about you’re oringially being from the Midwest.

    You know: Midwest … Jello. Midwest … Jello. They just go together.

    (As a non-midwestern transplaned here after college, I can’t tell you what a culture shock it was when I attended midwestern hometown-style weddings and discovered they can’t exist w/o a few jello molds on the ‘le banquet table.)

    Reply
  • 2. Cher Scholar  |  January 22, 2010 at 4:51 am

    Vomited is an interesting word choice for your inaugural post.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


wordpress hit counter

